Economic Development Profession’s “40 Under 40” Award Winners Announced

January 27, 2015

40 Under 40 Economic Development logoNEW YORK – January 27, 2015 – Development Counsellors International (DCI) announced the winners of the economic development industry’s “40 Under 40” awards at the International Economic Development Council Leadership Summit in Palm Beach last night. The award was designed to discover the profession’s rising stars.

“The people chosen by the selection committee represent a bright future for the economic development world,” said Andy Levine, president of DCI. “They are a new breed of results-driven, place makers.”

The youngest winner is 26 with the pool consisting of 16 women and 24 men.

The South and the Midwest dominated with 13 award recipients each, with the most recipients located in Florida. Large communities of 200,000 or more came away with the majority of award recipients, with 23 winners.

Of particular note, four of the 40 Under 40 are from outside the mainland U.S., all from Canada.

“This was the second time we’ve hosted an awards event of this caliber,” Levine said. “We were blown away by the response. We accepted more than 150 nominations, all of whom were doing amazing things to advance the profession.”

A five-member selection committee evaluated and chose the winners based on their exceptional contributions to the economic development industry.

“All of the candidates were outstanding,” said Cathy Chambers, senior vice president at JAX USA Partnership and a selection committee member. “It was very humbling—and inspiring—to digest the great work being done by young economic developers.”

Economic Development 40 Under 40 Award Winners

Joel Akason, Director of Business Investment, Greater Minneapolis Saint Paul Regional Economic Development Partnership

Jake Austin, Director of Business Retention and Expansion, Tampa Hillsborough Economic Development Corporation

Jason Ball, President & CEO, Hutchinson/Reno County Chamber of Commerce

Patrick Barker, Executive Director, Frederick County Economic Development Authority

Todd Battle, President, Kenosha Area Business Alliance

Jamie Beier Grant, Director, Ottawa County Improvement Corporation

Jonathan Bittner, Deputy Commissioner, Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development

Emily Brown, Manager Economic Development Research Partners, International Economic Development Council (IEDC)

Lisa Corcoran, Manager of Marketing & Communications, Calgary Economic Development

Andrew Duffell, President & CEO, Research Park at Florida Atlantic University

AshleyEdwards, Executive Director, Hancock County Port and Harbor Commission

Matt Forshee, East Georgia Community & Economic Development Manager, Georgia Power

David Gilford, Vice President, New York City Economic Development Corporation

Heather Gramm, Director of Regional Growth and Retention, Maryland Department of Business and Economic Development

Broderick Green, Director of Business Development, JAXUSA Partnership

Michelle Hadwiger, Director of Corporate Development Colorado Office of Economic Development

Liz Hayden, Business Development Specialist, City of Hamilton

Jennifer Hernandez, Director of Economic Development & Special Projects, The Beacon Council

Amy Jauron, Economic Development Officer, Corvallis/Benton County Economic Development Office

MandyLambert, Commissioner of Business Development, Kentucky Cabinet for Economic Development

Chris Lawson, Executive Director, The Hamilton Mill

Ann Miller, Executive Director, Buda Economic Development Corporation

Mark Morrissey, Director of Economic Development, City of Fort Saskatchewan

Tim Mroz, Vice President of Marketing and Communications, The Right Place, Inc.

Katie Perry, Vice President, Southwest Michigan First

Chris Petroff, Vice President of Business Development, Greater Phoenix Economic Council

Jeremiah Quarles, Chief Executive Officer, Desoto Economic Development Corporation

Matt Rookard, Senior Vice President of Business Development, Greater New Orleans, Inc.

Paul Rumler, Executive Vice President and Chief Economic Development Officer, Quad Cities Chamber of Commerce

Janet Scott, Manager of Business Development, Enterprise Saint John

Madison Silvert, President & CEO, Greater Owensboro Economic Development Corporation

Christina Stimpson, Director of International Trade, Mobile Area Chamber of Commerce

AngelaTalbot, Vice President of Business Development, Greater Phoenix Economic Council

Tim Terrentine, Executive Vice President, Southwest Michigan First

Nicholas Terzulli, Director of Business Development, Nassau County Industrial Development Agency

Stephen Thompson, Consul & Senior Economic Officer, Ontario International Marketing Centre

Alan Tio, President, Whitley County Economic Development Corporation

Jeff Traywick, Senior Project Manager of Economic Development, Birmingham Business Alliance

Jennifer Wakefield, Vice President of Marketing and Communications, Metro Orlando Economic Development Commission

Kara Wood, Economic Development Director, City of Grand Rapids

For more information on DCI’s 40 Under 40 winners, visit



About DCI

Considered the leader in marketing places, Development Counsellors International (DCI) specializes in economic development and tourism marketing.  The agency has worked for more than 400 cities, regions, states and countries since it was established in New York City in 1960.

Leave a Reply